Career Exploration is a Raging Beast

I wish my parents knew what I did for a living. If they did, they would be able to understand how I measure my success and understand why I am so passionate about what I do.

I have always had a supportive family. My first trip out of the United States, my mother and father cried because it was something people in my family just did not do. My sisters have been on planes before–a trip to Vegas and a honeymoon in Aruba–but never had they spent 3 weeks in a developing country working, or in my case creating a documentary for a film course. My parents were terrified.

My parents are also the kind of people who do not get the non-profit sector. You get a vocation, and stick with it for the rest of your life. When I told my father I did not want to go to grad school right away because I wanted to “get work experience” he lost it. His response was a degree matters, and I needed to get one as soon as possible so I can buy a limo and hire a chauffeur. That, my friends, is how my dad thinks. I also told him working/interning/volunteering is what us kids do these days when we cannot figure out exactly what we want to do with our lives. Again, a foreign concept.

I used to become upset when my mother asked multiple times what high school or college I went to, but knew the areas my sister and brother patrolled. I value their opinions a great deal, and in the midst of my most stressful time (career exploration) I wish I had their insight and wisdom to give me direction. I do have their support, and I guess that means more than anything else. But, for some reason it does not feel like enough.

~ by Shalena on March 26, 2010.

One Response to “Career Exploration is a Raging Beast”

  1. I completely get it! My dad doesn’t understand at all what it is like for our generation, in terms of the new opportunities, but also the intense pressure and competition. Knowing that they support us is wonderful, but I don’t really think we’ll be able to make them get it.

Leave a Reply

 
